Like riding a bike

I have never had to re teach myself riding a bike, but I was re taught how to walk by a very skilled and insightful physical therapist.

And now that I know how to walk again, it’s as if I never didn’t walk.

Except the memory of the past few weeks hangs fresh like some freaky nightmare right now.

I expect it will fade.

But the joy I felt when I took, at age 51, those new first steps, the happiness I feel because I don’t ever want to sit down or lie down or turn down any invitation to go for a walk again.

That’s something I hope I’ll remember. Here’s a video just in case.

7 thoughts on “Like riding a bike

    1. The neurologist said that HD was concerned in that it played a role in the psychiatric factors that contributed to the thing called a conversion disorder. I am sooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo happy!!

      Like

  1. Sarah, Oh the joy! When I saw the FB photo of you standing, I actually cried. This post, is perfect and beautiful, not just for the words you share, but for the way you craft these words. Your story is so important and wonderfully written.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

