A sample foray into the world

I went to the grocery store today. Even though I don’t like going anywhere, I went just the same. Parked in a handicap spot, mostly so I would remember where I parked, and went in. Then waited at customer service for ten minutes to find out why there were no NCAA championship T shirts at the grocery store mere hours after the victory. I kept asking people about the shirts and they would answer me. Then I’d run into another employee who maybe thought I was confused and I, not really wanting to explain that I was generally always clueless at the store, would ask about the T shirts again.

The answer every time was, “No, we’re not getting in any.”

Finally, a man too old to know about the internet approached me and suggested that I purchase them online, something I had never considered.

As a result, I was forced to focus on trying to get the hell out of there with something usable.

This grocery store, which I actually like, has a meal suggestion center. The center displays all the pre-fab fixings for a dinner and the sides right there in one cooler. All I have to do is take them home, let someone else cook them, or watch them rot in the refrigerator. Today, I bought Spanish style breaded pork chops and plantains. Everyone at home, including me, thought it sounded icky.

But it was a decision that was already made by someone else so I took advantage of it. Because making decisions is excruciatingly painful, and is sometimes enough to send me into a fine frenzy.

I wandered around the store next, looking for Mark’s favorite afternoon snack which is also the staple for when I don’t feed him. I knew what aisle they were on and what color box they were, but even though I’d bought a million boxes of them, it didn’t register that they were Hot Pockets until I saw them. But seeing them, I knew for sure and shamefully picked up a box and put it in the bottom of the cart.

I was really hoping the pork chop idea would fly tonight.

It didn’t.

Everyone had leftover anything.

 

3 thoughts on “A sample foray into the world

  1. this made me smile–about the dinner fixings;)) For my mom, making decisions very early on was difficult so that part I could relate. As always, I enjoy your posts and in awe of how well you write.
    Love to you.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I do take time to decide and it can be tough to make a decision on something simple. I enjoy grocery shopping but will take time to make decision. It is worse when I go to shopping at the mall and see something I like. It will definitely take much longer for me to decide. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

