50 Happy Things 2016: Bloggers Unite to Flood the Internet with Gratitude

Dawn Quyle Landau, blogger of TALES FROM THE MOTHERLAND explains how it works:

“The idea is that you set a timer for 15 minutes and then spontaneously list 50 things that you’re either grateful for, or that make you happy… generally the two go hand in hand! All bloggers are welcome, and the link-up is a fun way to share good feelings–– Something we could all use right about now!”

You can get complete instructions from Dawn’s blog entry.

My list (not in order of importance) is here:

  1. I have LOST SEVENTY POUNDS so far!
  2. Randy is the greatest.
  3. I have great doctors and therapists.
  4. I got to spend time with Nina in the mountains and Florida.
  5. I got to go to the WeHaveAFace walk and see and meet friends who deal with Huntington’s Disease.
  6. I am still driving.
  7. My animals make me happy.
  8. I can still work at my part time job.
  9. I can still walk pretty normally.
  10. My HD is the late developing kind.
  11. I still keep this blog.
  12. MaryAlice came to the HD Paddle from NJ.
  13. My oldest son started college.
  14. My youngest son discovered his talent for basketball.
  15. My middle son is applying for colleges.
  16. I got to see my niece and nephews and their grandmother.
  17. I am friends with my brother for the first time.
  18. I got to see my mother two weeks before she died.
  19. My mother spent only a couple of months in a nursing home.
  20. I am remembering good things about my mother from childhood.
  21. The Gilmore Girls.
  22. Sushi.
  23. Don and Susan at Herbalife for their support and friendship.
  24. The happiness of Vana on her great adventure.
  25. Getting to know my wonderful neighbors better.
  26. The desire to plan things, like trips.
  27. My house.
  28. The help my neighbors have given us with the landscaping.
  29. That I had Bell’s Palsy instead of a stroke.
  30. That I now have lots of baseline tests done as a result of 29.
  31. Meeting Chelsea and Dave.
  32. Every interaction with DK and Jocko.
  33. Coffee or tea in the morning with Randy.
  34. (Insert activity here) with Randy.
  35. Laughing.
  36. Music.
  37. Making my house better.
  38. The City Laundry coffee shop and club.
  39. Almond milk.
  40. Water.
  41. The king size fluffy blanket I bought the day after the election.
  42. The reclining couches.
  43. Good TV shows and watching them with Randy.
  44. I can sometimes make dinner.
  45. I made most of Christmas dinner.
  46. Randy finished Christmas decorating after my mother died.
  47. Randy helped me go through 20 years of clothes, try on and throw away things.
  48. Randy organized the bedroom and I love it.
  49. I have a bedrail so I won’t fall out of bed in my sleep again.
  50. As soon as I purchased incontinence supplies, I did not need them.
5 thoughts on “50 Happy Things 2016: Bloggers Unite to Flood the Internet with Gratitude

  1. Sarah, your list is so inspiring to me. Living with HD in our family, I know that it is SO easy to focus on all of the losses and hard things, you are able to focus on such positive things. It was such a joy to meet you, for this reason and others. You inspire me with each post! Thanks so much for taking the time to participate in this year’s #BloggersUnite for #50HappyThings; I’m so grateful!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

