Getting on with life

There has been a nagging feeling of things that need to be done, but exactly what those things are swirl around my mind and it is hard to capture them, so I am left with this constant undertone of confusion.

This morning, I was able to communicate some of them to my husband. In some cases, they are simple things, like “I need legal pads.” But when I have previously thought about buying legal pads that thought was also accompanied by the desire to not go back into Staples, where I have had an HD meltdown. So the legal pad need has been going unfulfilled as I write on the back of every lined piece of paper I find. There are some other things I needed that I could pull out of my head to tell husband.

One item is a small pad of paper and pens so I can write down the other things as they come back around!

I fell out of bed a few nights ago. I was sleeping like a rock and landed like a rock, too. It scared me, but I wasn’t hurt. I have been sleeping with a fortress of pillows around me or on the couch ever since. My husband is going to buy a baby gate to go on the side of the bed. I hope that will keep me from taking flight again. A friend of mine sleeps with his bed on the floor so when he falls off, he won’t have as far to fall. I think that is a pretty good solution, but like having the bed up, just because I am used to it and heaven forbid I try to change anything I am used to because I will stress over that.

I have discovered that being around people who I don’t know well is exhausting and I am very averse to it. Because I have an invisible disease, I wonder if and how many times I have met people. I wonder if I have told them about me, or if they already know. Yesterday, I dropped off some stuff at a neighborhood picnic and the difference in my level of comfort was so dramatic between the people that I knew well and those I knew by sight. It was a stark contrast. I was stressed out being around strangers in a setting where my reactions to their questions might make them uncomfortable.

In general, I am moving forward and am trying to do so positively. I have lost over 40 pounds (I am overweight) and each day I pretty much wake up cheerful. It just gets harder as the day goes on.

Sometimes, if something that is not routine occurs or something suddenly annoys me, I will take an extra mood stabilizer to prevent HD’s irritability from taking control. I had written “my irritability” but decided that I am not going to claim it. It is the disease that has installed the pressure cooker into my emotional center.

There is a woman who I wrote about in a blog about a year ago who introduced herself to me again and again until I finally started remembering her name. Her name is Vana, and she has become a beloved friend. She is headed off in the next few days to spend a year in St. Lucia to pursue some dreams and my happiness for her outweighs any sorrow so far because I am proud of her gumption and courage. I know it will hit me later.

Vana, I wish you the greatest adventure of your life, and thank you for becoming part of my family.

Thank God for the internet, right?

4 thoughts on “Getting on with life

  1. Thank you for the internet! I am thankful to God for blessing me with friends and family who love and care for me. But there are times I wonder the meaning of life. This is especially true now that I am dealing with him. As such I need to have faith in God. Love your writing as usual. I am slower too in typing. And I do slur when talk for a long time . maybe I should have a slurpee . always loving you

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

