Why I am still in the HD death march

I usually don’t blog about other people’s comments on Facebook, but read on and maybe you’ll see why I’m a little ticked off.

A well-meaning, anonymous, Facebooker writes “From Duck Dynasty we learn that if you put a frog in a pot of water and slowly turn up the heat and (sic) he won’t jump out. Who is interested in jumping out of the HD death march?”

I don’t know about you, but I don’t take life lessons from Duck Dynasty.

Furthermore, if I were put in a pot of water that slowly heated up, I would jump out.

The HD death march is not something I choose to remain a part of because I am unenlightened and amphibious.

I resent the implication that I still have Huntington’s disease because I haven’t done enough to force someone else to cure it.

I don’t know what else I can do. Tell me what else I should do.

But don’t blame me like, all-to-often, the rape victim is blamed. He or she asked for it.

Right.

I,too, am tired of waiting. I, too, am angry. I get it that every day, real people are dying horrible deaths.

I don’t choose to remain in the HD death march, but I’m in it, and I have fine company.

I plan to do the best I can, to have the best day I can, every day, despite having HD.

If I were a scientist, I would be working for a cure.

But I am just a regular person.

And I am pulling for all of the scientists who are losing sleep trying to save us.

2 thoughts on “Why I am still in the HD death march

Leave a Reply

