Happy anniversary, Randy!

Dear Randy,

Today marks our 11th anniversary and I could never be happier than I am now.

We just shared the observation that pretty much everything has changed since we’ve been together.  We had a child together, found our dream town and home, and learned that I have Huntington’s disease.

I don’t know how you stuck with me during the years before we knew why I wasn’t doing things that obviously needed to be done. When I was paralyzed by apathy and confusion. But I thank God that you did.

When my genetic test results came back positive for HD, you stuck with me while I grieved much longer than we all thought possible. While I was sucked in by darkness. While I still wasn’t able to do the things that obviously needed to be done. When I was still paralyzed by apathy and confusion, compounded by depression. But I thank God that you did.

You’ve been by my side at every opportunity I’ve taken to help myself. And as a result, I’ve grown in ways I never knew I could. And so has our marriage.

Together we take the good that each day offers. On bad days, we use the tools we’ve been taught to get through them.

I look at the years to come and intend to cheat HD from taking away the happiness we share now. I know that if I fight HD, you’ll be there, fighting with me.

And I thank God that you will.

I love you so,

Sarah

 

 

One thought on “Happy anniversary, Randy!

Leave a Reply

