Didn’t you know pie is infinite?

I have learned a lot during the HD Pie in the Face Challenge.

One of the biggest lessons I’ve learned is that it is up to me to speak up for myself instead of expecting somebody else to do it.

Generally speaking, celebrities won’t care about Huntington’s Disease until it suits their needs, and me trying to get their attention is like a cat trying to climb a greased pole. It wastes my time and it makes me feel even more ignored.

Can you tell I’m irritated? I’ll get over it, but I got a great take-away:

We’re not well known enough for the well known so we’ll just handle it ourselves. And creating HD awareness has always been our own responsibility anyway.

Henceforth, I will use my time wisely by promoting the challenge in ways that can actually facilitate it. After all, who do we want to be aware of HD? Not the stars, but the people in our neighborhood who have never heard of it. Our schools, our workplace, and our churches are where the people are that we want to reach.  If the challenge is essentially about raising awareness, then keeping it at the grassroots level will continue to serve us well. Our communities will develop a greater understanding of HD, and maybe even contribute to our causes.That’s why we need to do the following:

  • Get back in front of the camera and make new rounds of challenges to include more people in our neighborhood and community.
  • If there is a school, church, or county fall carnival coming, have a Pie in the Face booth. Ask your mayor or city councilmen to be targets and people can bid for the right to throw pies at them while you educate them about HD.
  • Follow the example set by our medical community and have all of your coworkers challenge all of another company’s employees.
  • Contact your local high schools and start campaigns there. Have football teams challenge rival teams, for example.
  • Call your local newspaper or TV stations and have them cover some of these big challenges.
  • Ask people if they’ve taken a pie yet, and if they haven’t challenge them to start one of their own.

While the flow of videos has slowed some, many of the upcoming Hope Walks plan to incorporate the HD Pie in the Face Challenge after their events. I’ve recently emailed or spoken to all of the people that represent the HDSA in the contiguous 48 states, and encouraged their chapters to participate in the Challenge. I’m also regularly sending press releases to various national and local news outlets.

We’ve found something fun that works in raising awareness, so I want to keep it going for as long as possible.

I’m just getting warmed up. How about you?

One thought on “Didn’t you know pie is infinite?

Leave a Reply

